Cooking with Idiot: Zord Edition (Nudity)
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Cooking with Idiot: Zord Edition (Nudity)

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Cooking with Idiot: Zord Edition (Nudity)

This may not be the best way to do things, but it is the way I've been doing things I'm still learning too!

My buddy Zord asked me the other day,

"I want to improve at digi. painting and i'm stuck. Any tips on improvement?"

I says, "photo or master copy in grayscale." One of the best ways to divide and conquer; you'll learn how to better use your tools as well as ace your values.

We both went looking for a good photo to work from (we ruled out master copy for the minute as often the capture quality makes it difficult). I remembered some great photo sets available at CharacterDesigns.com. http://www.characterdesigns.com/inde...page=photosets
    Thanks Hong Ly!

I then set this up for Johnny;
    Name:  1.jpg
Views: 1305
Size:  50.9 KB
    I grayscaled the ref and tweaked the values a little more to increase the contrast between light and dark. The idea is a 1:1 copy as accurate as possible. The swatches at the top are a range of white to black in 10% increments, the first swatch is white and black. Both the Photo and Swatches are on their own layer which is then locked. Level lines can be used to check proportions by clicking first on the ref, holding shift and drawing horizontally.

Part Two: Proportional Sketch
    Name:  2.jpg
Views: 1221
Size:  99.8 KB
    Name:  3.jpg
Views: 1256
Size:  85.9 KB

1st is Johnny's, 2nd is mine. The idea here is to get some good bookmarks, landmarks or whatever you want to call them. Get something rough in with proper proportion and direction and use it to refine your drawing.

Here is another sketch, I believe you started over right Johnny?
    Name:  4.jpg
Views: 1157
Size:  116.1 KB
    Name:  5.jpg
Views: 1132
Size:  132.6 KB