Art: Advice on my figure drawing (And my struggle for being a concept artist)
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Advice on my figure drawing (And my struggle for being a concept artist)

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Advice on my figure drawing (And my struggle for being a concept artist)

Greetings everyone,
    First of all, my apologies for my english

I'm a 21 years old spanish boy trying to learn how to draw. I was set to another path for 5 or more years, this was because my parents couldn't accept I just wanted to draw for a living and I wasn't brave enough to defend my own convictions, so I just tried to 'kill' that inner artist I have inside me. So I lost 5 years studying science (I wasn't bad at it, actually, but I HATED it), the last 2 years I fell into depression but finally I changed my mind and started a 2 and half a year 'course' (i dont know the english word) of illustration, it's not a full degree so you know what to expect. I'm learning lots of things but not enough things, I want to draw reallistic looking people and knights and futuristic people and creatures and all that stuff. I can draw nice cartoons but what I want is to draw WELL, not just the cartoons I can do right now. this last year I'm starting to feel happier (a lot!!) although I'm yet very passive, lazy, i think the english word is "procastination", I'd like to overcome it soooon.

So at home I draw many 'doodles' as you call them, random sketches of random things and people (or parts of people) that in the end are nothing and serve no purpose, without much thought put on them, I just waste my time A LOT but being lazy and by doing things that drive me nowhere.