Art: Joining the fray
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Joining the fray

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Joining the fray

First things first, let me just say that there are some incredibly dedicated and talented artists here. I was really amazed at the chops represented on this forum.

My sad little story:
    I've been a working creative for 25+ years. Although I studied as a fine artist and an illustrator, and have a background in animation and vfx, I've spent the last 15 years or so as a creative director doing mainly online/interactive work.

A few years back I decided to try my hand a writing live action screenplays. In the process I ended-up writing a cyberpunk trilogy that's getting some traction. Once some producers and an agent got involved, I got the bright idea to try knock-out a few concept drawings to better illustrate my vision.

I hadn't put a pencil to paper in about 10 years. Wow. I was humbled and frustrated. Whatever drawing skills I once had (I was never great) had dried, curled-up and wafted away while I wasn't looking. I was so frustrated I almost put the drawing board through the window. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR, NEVER STOP SKETCHING, NO MATTER HOW BUSY YOU GET!!!

It was over a year later before I could bear to try again. I decided to use brush and ink to loosen-up. I spent a Sunday and knocked-out a few pieces and touched-them-up a bit in PS. They're not great ... they really lack personality, they're stiff, and some of them are too cartoony ... but I pushed through and finished them. I'm posting them here as a reminder to others, and a kick-in-the-ass to me. Don't ever stop drawing/painting/whatever you love. It's a gift that needs exercised, just like a puppy!

Anyhow, here they are. Shred away! I've got to go find myself a life drawing class!

- Joe

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Wow these are really cool. Nice color choices and style.