Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks

Advice needed from flute players

I am not sure if this would warrant critique but I suppose I couldn't find anything for the other arts. This site is obviously geared towards the visual arts but I wonder if there are proffessional musicians who can offer pointers.

Since 6th grade I have joined in my school band and my junior year is nearing its end. I am still learning, I suppose but now I know all my notes, I can site read a bit and my fingers are fast. However, there's this one problem I keep having; I run out of breath.

It's not as bad on the piccolo, I can seem to channel the air much better in a smaller hole and I can hit all the high notes with ease(high B is a bit of a challenge) so this problem is more towards the flute. Some days I can play fine, other days it feels airy and my head feels light. I was wondering if there's a certain technique? A way to get the lungs working better? I would be willing to take any advice to get over this obstacle.

((I do visual art but for the most part I am keeping it off this site))

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Naw, I don't smoke at all. It's probably more of how I use my diaphragm muscle and how I direct my air into the flute. Thanks anyways

Thanks
    It'd be awesome if I could help you, but unfortunately, you probably know more than I do about breathing, (since you're a junior after all...) it's cool to see other band people in these forums.

btw, I'm a freshman t-bone player, that got moved up to the junior/senior band, because we needed more people there.(not enough low brass.)

There's the breath in 8 counts, breath out 8 counts exercise...you could also try and do some other exercise for your body or something before you play-might get you breathing better....and that's all I can think off right now, of course, you probably might've already known these things, because you've been playing a wind instrument longer than me. XD

Thanks