Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks

New Idea for Car Engine

Hey guys,

I am no industrial designer but I just have a little thought....

I was hanging out with my little nephew last night and he had a pair of those wind-up cars, you know the ones that you roll back a few times then let go and watch it race forward. And I know this might seem a little mad but why in the world could that not work for standard cars today?

It wouldn't be the exact same system of course but why not have an engine that has been 'cranked' in some way to hold all of that power and release it on command, you could have a series of gears to limit how much power was distributed (much like a standard car). To 'recrank' you could simply go to a station that would have the proper re-cranking mechanism to 'wind' the engine back up and on your dashboard there would simply be (like a gas gauge) gauge to tell you how much 'crank' your engine has in reserve.

The engine could have a (for example) top horsepower of 100hp and then a series of...well something (this is where my limited industrial design shows) that could limit and control how much power is put to the wheels.

No gas, no oil, no nothing really...

What do you think?

C

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    I think there's probably a reason why this isn't on the market. I'm no engineer either, and I'm quite certain if it was viable someone would have done it already. They are currently experimenting with magnetism as a way to make wheels turn, though I am unfamiliar with the technicalities concerning this idea.
    Brendan Noeth

Thanks
    Thanked 1,607 Times in 291 Posts