Thanks

Advice from the experienced or self taught artists?

Hey guys,

Well, i have more time now to do more drawing/painting/studying for myself. I can't afford to go to school right now, and the ones around here i don't like. Im waiting to get my skills up to par to attend Conceptart.org atlier Im serious though.

Anyways, im thinking of setting myself on my own schooling program for now. I was gonna set it up something like i have certain subjects i study/draw each day. But i wasn't sure if it would be better to do 1 subject, say like anatomy for 1 whole day, or have things mixed up in one day, say like 3 hrs anatomy, next class - 3 hrs, perspective, next class 3 hrs colour theory, etc...

I kind of like the idea of doing 3 hrs each subject, so i wouldn't get uninterested fast. But im not sure if things would stick by doing it this way? Do they need a full day of studying for each subject??

Basically im asking, which is the best way for me to learn the best??

Thanks everyone!

~JB

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by JustinBeckett
    Basically im asking, which is the best way for me to learn the best??
    I think that's ENTIRELY up to you dude. Sounds like you'll do it easier in 3 hour sessions, so go with that. But you'll have to see what works best for you.

(though I'm neither experienced nor self taught as the thread asks, so take my words with some salt .)

cheers
    Last edited by Brendan N; April 17th, 2007 at 03:14 PM.
    Brendan Noeth

Thanks
    i was thinking about doing this myself actually over the summer... we will see how that goes though

Thanks
    Thanked 1,452 Times in 259 Posts
    Yup, it's up to you. There is no one-size-fits-all educational experience. Figure out a schedule that keeps you productive and happy, and go go go!