Life painting - materials and techniques?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Life painting - materials and techniques?

Hey everyone, i haven't posted for a while...been busy, whats up?

Anyways, im attending a few life drawing drop in classes right now. 1 of them contains 3 half hr poses in the last hr and a half. I want to do some life painting. I have never done this before, only drawing. I paint alot, mostly acrylics, i am thinking of using acrylics for this.

I would like someone's imput who has done this before, what sort of pallette should i use for painting fast, pretty much a portrait or a figure painted in a half hr, should i stick to black and white...i wanna move quick...mostly blocking in shapes and form i would assume. What sort of materials would be best for this type of work, some advice would be appreciated??

Thanks!

~JB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    It takes some practice, but just treat it the same as you would any old paint sketch. Keep in mind the time limit and move quickly. Loosely sketch out the figure with thin paint, and then paint over. Earth tones are great for mixing skin tones; Cerulean blue, Rose, Veridian and Lemon Yellow are some nice colors to have onhand as well.

note: Mix skintone left on your palette for painting hair; otherwise you'll probably end up with something that looks like a wig.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Haven't done painting myself, but you can check out some really good paintings Chromosome's sketchbook thread. He uses oils, but I suppose you could learn some none the less, or ask him.

Here's the link in case: http://www.conceptart.org/forums/showthread.php?t=83802
    very cool thread.

hope it helps out mate, cheers!

Brendan Noeth

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I don't know for acrylics but you could try using the Zorn palette.