proportions and anatomy crits

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

proportions and anatomy crits

Hello!

My name is Lukas Grochowski, and this looks like a wonderful forum with many great artist as I can see and I hope I can contribute in someway in the future
    I live in Sweden, here Im studing computer graphics, but I also want to become really really good at drawing, and my goal is to be able to draw the human figure in any and pose I want and in any angle.
    So I started learning the human anatomy and with help of Riven Phoenixs video tutorials the process has been a lot quicker and easier and Ive just got off completing watching the entire series and my own studies of books and such.

And here are some drawing that I made and I would like some constructive crits or comments on the anatomy and proportions, and please dont go easy on me just because its my first post, tough love works best on me so please a full tackle!!

thanks
    [edit] sorry for the bad quality I dont have a scanner.

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    The seem to be very unbalanced, especially the first one. Check the spineline with the center of gravity, you know? Don't care too much about anatomy at this stage, study a lot of proportions. I recomend Burne Hogarths Figure Drawing In Space, it have helped me a lot with proportiones, foreshortening, shading etc. Understanding what I'm drawing.

EDIT: Andrew Loomis books are good too, but it looks like thats what you're using now?..

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Definitely wanna work on the feet. As far as the anatomy goes it is unbalanced. You have the upper half of the body really defined, but once you get to the legs they're very simplistic.