freelance / contract / commission
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: freelance / contract / commission

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question freelance / contract / commission

Hi everyone,

I am a concept artist / illustrator with MFA degree and nearly 6 years of experience in the industry (films, games, animations, some theatre work). I am working in a pre-vis studio part time and at a game developer off-site, but I am doing freelance near that.
    I like freelance jobs, because its always good, when you have the chance to take care about your time, but there are hips of troubles in getting your money. Almost each of us burned in some way...
    I just thought its good to start a thread to discuss the problems and practical things in this case, so feel free to add any kind of comments.

Best,
    mr. m

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    always use contracts, and always get the client's address and telephone and email as well as the formal name of the client or company, and if you want to be paranoid, actually mail them something like the contract, to make sure that's where they get their mail. require down payments before you start, so you're not at a total loss, and ask for payments in halves or thirds, so you're paid along the way. i always ask for full payment for anything $100 or less, and include in my TOS that bounced checks or late payments are assessed late fees ($20) every month/instance.

and check in about 2 weeks after the invoice if they haven't paid already as a friendly reminder (i usually give the client about a month), and then i call them again at the end of the month if they still haven't paid. also, be sure to include in the TOS a part that says that the client doesn't actually get to exercise their license to use the image or own the rights to the image until FULL PAYMENT has been made.