Art: Beginner questions. (sculpting with sculpey)
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Beginner questions. (sculpting with sculpey)

Hi everyone, im new here and im also new to sculpting so i got some questions about sculpting with super sculpey.

I finished my first sculpture and painted it with acrylic paint, (im also new to painting with acrylic paint so i dont know much about that either) i didnt like the way the paint made the finish all glossy, what should i paint with if i want a matte surface? Is it like this with all acrylic paints, or is it just this particular paint? I would appreciate any links to sites with tips on how to paint sculptures and how to get different surface effects.

I think i read somewhere that you can smooth out the surface of the clay using alchohol or lighter fluid. I have lighter fluid and just want to know how to apply it, use it and how not to use it and all that. One thing that comes to mind is - is there any risk that the sculpture when baked in the oven ignites because of the lighter fluid? My common sense tells me not to put something with flammable liquids on it in the oven.

Is there other forums like this one with people posting pictures of their clay creations, i love to see other peoples work. Please share any links.

And also, any links to sites with tutorials/tips for beginners is appreciated.

These are the questions i have right now, may come with some more later.

Last edited by StinkyFists; March 22nd, 2007 at 01:51 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following