Art: Oils or gouache; not sure yet.
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Exclamation Oils or gouache; not sure yet.

Hey I'm about to get started with some traditional painting (starting with just values), but I'm not sure if I should choose oils or gouache. I love the look of oil paintings the most so that's what I would choose in the first place, but I got a little room where I sleep as well, so I really can't stand that much awful smells. Also, I think gouache causes less hassle and smells.

Should I just go with gouache or is there a way to use oils anyway (maybe water soluble oils)? I'm really new to all this so I hope someone could give me some tips, thanks!

Woke up this morning, found out my signature was gone..
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Water Soluble Oils are something I personally stay away from. Honestly, Is being a fast drying agent important to you? If it is then I would highly suggest looking into acrylics or Gouache. If you do not mind waiting a while for the art to dry then go with oils. There are some products that smell worse then others with oils. I honestly use Turpenoid and sin dried linseed oil and sunflower oil. As long as you can get some cross ventilation in the room it should;nt be too much of a problem.

I imagine that Elwell, DSIllustration, Mr.Visions or Dave Palumbo could help you more as they deal with oils regularly.

"Is Japan in the future?" Rob ( Co-worker)
    "Wait.. What?" Me
    " They are almost done tommorow and I haven't even started tommorow" Rob
    " They are called timezones Rob.."
    " Oh Yeah" Rob

- SSGXXXVI - The Dirty Thirty Six -
    Unknown Epiphany EKU_11 Jska Frumious_Me

Thanks
    Follows
    Following