Strange request: Anyone willing to mentor?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Strange request: Anyone willing to mentor?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Strange request: Anyone willing to mentor?

This might not be the right place to put this, but I figured I'd ask it anyway... Is anyone willing to mentor an average aspiring artist?

I don't know any way to get better. I've been trying and trying, and unfortunately the pictures all look extremely sub-par compared to the stuff I see here drawn in a day! 0.o
    Now here's a little background:
    I've been drawing for around 10 years, but you couldn't tell it, because I truthfully don't draw daily, and when I do draw, it tends to be the same type of thing over and over. Let alone, little pieces all the time. It just gets frustrating really quickly to see artists spit things out that would take me seriously like 2 weeks to do. I just don't know where to go for assistance. I'm in school for graphic design (which seems a lot different than I expected it to be, but hopefully it'll help land me some form of job) when I'd really like to doing some form of concept art or 'free-er' art than the constricted graphic design art. I originally wanted to be an enviornmental artist for VGs (3D or otherwise), but quickly changed my tune when I noticed how not only is the industry itself not family friendly, but I'd need to increase my skill 100-fold to even be on par. I've been trying to participate in the DSGs but I only get like 5% done with a single piece a day. Ugh... sorry I'm rambling.

ANYWAY... the point I'm trying to make with all this is:
    A) Is there anyone that can point me in the right direction for art instruction or whatever?
    B) Someone that can point me to the right tools to make decent digital art (I'm alright on the traditional media front, with colored pencils at least)?