Stills on a demo reel: Yes or No?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Stills on a demo reel: Yes or No?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Stills on a demo reel: Yes or No?

I've been working on my demo reel for an upcoming job/internship fair at my school, and in the course of putting it together I find myself faced with a question that hopefully some pros can answer: Should I (or anyone) put still images on a demo reel?

It's a bit more extreme, in my case; I'm an animation major, but I'm only starting out and so far have only one animation project to show. I have overwhelmingly more illustration/concept stuff to include, so I'm wondering if I should just shuck the demo reel entirely and do a ton of hard-copy portfolios to hand out, and perhaps include the animation project on my website (which is mentioned on my resume and portfolio cover.) I'm not sure how an animation company would respond to this, hence the reason I ask. Any advice?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    If you're just starting out why worry about a reel? Even if its a short 2-year program you should have 3 to 5 pieces of animation by the time you finish. Enough for a reel around 1min

do more animations is the best option.

If you're doing an animation reel anything that's not animated should be kept to a minimum, including credits and contact info.

If you don't have enough animation its probably better to submit a flat book and bill yourself as an layout artist or background artist before moving over to animation.

Reel priority as follows:
    Animations - Best to worse

these are last resort:
    Storyboards
    Designs/Layouts; character sheets
    Other non-animation stills like illustrations and concepts.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Mayby you can show a short preview of a upcoming animation project you're working on to make someone interested to follow your progress in the animation field.