A new start, please critique
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: A new start, please critique

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

A new start, please critique

Heya, i'm new to ConceptArt, and though i don't think my work could even come close to rivaling most of the work on here, i'm still desperately craving the input I need to improve.

I'm trying to work in a more angular drawing style into my art, hopefully it adds an edge to it and doesn't just make it look akward.

Anyhow. I'm looking for some help on this image. It will be colored in marker. In particular i'm conserned with weight distribution (as the character is supposed to have fallen asleep slumped against the table.), the swords (I know.. they look like toys, but how can i make them realistic but still distinctly different?), the perspective on the table and 'chair' (only drew in the boxy forms without detail because i realise they need a lot of work in angles and positioning before i can finish them).

Also i'm looking for suggestions on the final layout of the page, ideas for background details, and coloring advice.

Of course any and all critique is appreciated. THe character is based on my WOW character, but i do want to eventually change her design to remain in the fantasy D&D type universe, without being so strongly suggestive of the MMORPG.

redlines, especially with the perspective of the furniture, are very appreciated.

oh yeah, ignore the stupid smiling face in the corner... that was done mostly to entertain me.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    look carefully at the straight line between his shoulders (they seem unbalanced), and the length of his thigh. Also, the feet appear a bit small, so think about them in relation to the size of his head.

A "from life" figure drawing would really help here, so see if you can ask a friend to pose in the same position, and have a careful look at the proportions.