help w customizing wacom slider bar

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts

    help w customizing wacom slider bar

    I wanna make the slider bar on my tablet able to change my brush opacity but i cant seem to find anything. any ideas???
    I looked in the key shortcut lists in PS but found nothing that accesses the brush opacity. I may be finding a stone wall here....

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Are you referring to the Intuos 3 express strip that's usually defaulted to zoom?

    Tool Opacity 10% → 100% 1 → 0
    Flow / Airbrush Opacity 10% → 100% Shift+1 → 0

    http://hongkiat.com/blog/keyboard-sh...toolsbox/#@154

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
    Yes its the intuos 3 express strip.
    I tried to give the top of the strip a "0" for 100% opacity and the bottom a "1" for 10% opacity. But thats all it does. No gradation of opacity, just 10% and 100%.
    Cant I make it a sliding adjustment like the default zoom???

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
    well, I just set the touch strip for my usual painting opacities, that being 26% and 70%. But I would still like to have a gradation.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Hmm, this is what I grabbed from the newsletter from Wacom:
    # The keyboard shortcuts for the right ExpressKeys are:
    # Zoom in: Command (PC: Control) +=(equal sign)
    # View actual pixels: Command (PC: Control) +Option (PC: Alt) +0 (zero)
    # Fit in window: Command (PC: Control) +0 (zero)
    # Zoom out: Command (PC: Control) + -(minus sign)

    The left Touch Strip controls the brush size. I hold down the Shift Express Key with my middle finger and tap the top or bottom of the Touch Strip with my index finger to increase (top of Touch Strip) or decrease (bottom of Touch Strip) the hardness of the brush's edge in 25% increments.

    Here are the keyboard shortcuts:
    # Larger brush: ]
    # Smaller brush: [

    That's it! These are my standard ExpressKey setups for Photoshop on my Cintiq 21UX and Intuos3 pen tablets.


    Does that have anything useful for you?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    São Paulo
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 65 Times in 39 Posts
    I use the gradative brush size and zoom too... Opacity will be hard, but try creating an action or something like that and puting a shortcut to it. :/

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    I think the problem is this, while the ] [ keys are shortcuts to brush size, they're just programmed to go into increments. So the person is tapping the top and bottom of the strip NOT SLIDING to get the differences.

    With the shortcut I gave you each key is assigned an opacity.

    I'm not sure if newer drivers will allow a gradual increase using those assignments because then you're trying to map the entire sensitivity of the strip ...if you understand what I'm getting at.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
    Thanks. I guess I found a problem area for wacom. I can handle just two opacities, a light one and a dark one. It would be nice though to have an opacity slider though. I dont get it though, brush size and zoom can slide...
    I may have to make a call to wacom to get to the bottom of this.
    thanks again.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MEMPER
    Thanks. I guess I found a problem area for wacom. I can handle just two opacities, a light one and a dark one. It would be nice though to have an opacity slider though. I dont get it though, brush size and zoom can slide...
    I may have to make a call to wacom to get to the bottom of this.
    thanks again.
    Right, like I said, the brackets are not a set assignment. So the sliding method works, because the ] [ key is set to increase/decrease at 25% increments per tap, so the sliding method works because it's detecting one half of that strip as a decrease, the other as an increase, so it responds "like sliding"

    However, the shortcut key that goes from 1 through 0 you'd have to assign each number, and you simply can't in the strip.

    Ex, you'd have to program keys 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 0 and you can only program TWO numbers.

    Am I making more sense now why this method can't work until there is a way to program two keys to play with tool opacity like brush size.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    São Paulo
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 65 Times in 39 Posts
    Conclusion, bad luck, you can't do it until adobe want it. :/

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Transitory
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Hey,

    There is a way to make the opacity follow the touch strip...

    In the Wacom settings for the touch strip make up by pressing these keys:

    enter up up up up up

    (up as in up cursor key)

    they'll actually come up as characters for return and then five arrows, this changes it 5% every time the touch strip actives, do the opposite for down.

    Hope that helps,
    Cheers,
    I.

    ___________________
    Imery Watson, Concept Art and Visual Development for Film.
    www.imerywatson.com
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    São Paulo
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 65 Times in 39 Posts
    Really?? I'll test right now
    I hope it works! Thanks

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    São Paulo
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 65 Times in 39 Posts

    Thumbs up

    pld: You solved our mistery

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
    sweet! thanks!

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •