Thanks

Lightbulb tips for customizing wacom f-keys?

Hey, I'm brand new to the whole Painter/tablet scene having just purchased an Intous2 6x8 and Painter 8. I'm not new to illustration or graphic design or computers. I'm pretty confident that I'll figure out the program fairly quickly, but I do have a couple of questions.

I'm accustomed to using a lot of keyboard shortcuts in other programs like Photoshop, Illustrator or Quark. However, in Painter I would prefer to be able to do all (or most) of my shortcuts using only the tablet and the pen. So, what commands have you assigned to your tablet f-keys in Painter 8? I'm interested in learning which f-key you assigned each command to as well (so I can get a sense of each command's importance).

I'm also curious about what percentage of zoom you work at and what ppi resolution you use. 300dpi is fairly standard for printing these days, but some printers are switching to presses that can hold 355dpi and I would like to make sure that I archive my work at a high enough resolution to take into account technical advances in the printing industry. As far as zoom goes, working at 100% seems the most logical, but I'm afraid that I will work too small at that size. At the same time, I'm finding that working at, say 30%, that finer brush sizes do not show up well. Perhaps I should sketch loosely with a course brush to start and fade it back as an underlayer, zoom in to 100% and work the details that way? I'm curious to hear other peoples working methods.

Anyway, any thoughts on this stuff would be appreciated, thanks!

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Hi,

I, too, have an Intuos2 6 x 8 but haven't bothered to program the tablet.

I program the F and Shift+F keys in Painter to do things. Mainly, I use the F keys to open and close palettes, then use the Shift+F keys for various things, depending on the project. For instance: