Art: Principles of Color as applied to painting( What are they?)

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Principles of Color as applied to painting( What are they?)

I'm a complete beginner when it comes to painting and learning color, but I believe in the importance of learning the principles rather than concerning oneself with how to mix a certain color. I'm hoping that the more knowledgeable and experienced could share the important principles that they apply in painting whether if it's done from life or imagination. I hope that this thread could serve as a starting point for those who want to start painting as well.

Please feel free to post what you know.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Pick a basic colour for whatever it is you are painting. From this base colour, ALL you need to know is how to cool it, how to warm it, and how to make it darker or lighter. Doesn't matter what pigments you use to do this.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    ACTION SPEAKS LOUDER
    "Amateurs look for inspiration; the rest of us just get up and go to work. " -Chuck Close

DRUNKEN WASTREL SKETCH GROUP:
    [ Costau D ][ Cuervo ][ Braintree ][ Fumble ][ Ookchk ][ RoboMonkey ]

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I followed the advice of artists from the Cennini Forum and read A Color Notation by A.H. Munsell, followed by How to Mix & Use Color by Liquitex. By then you should have a very clear understanding of how to practice identifying colors.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following