Art: Voice control?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Voice control?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Voice control?

    Anyone ever get voice control of Photoshop, Painter, etc. going? Can't help thinking it would be a huge timesaver if it worked right.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    marietta, ga
    Posts
    861
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 32 Times in 23 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Time does not exist..is a concept only in your mind, I dont understand what you wanna save?

    my new site, is crazy stuff but is my own space, I can say whatever!! hehe:
    http://theallejo05.spaces.live.com/?_c02_owner=1
    One of the art schools I respect the most:
    http://www.mimsstudios.com/philosophy.htm
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Philosophy, meet deadlines...not sure you two are gonna get along...



    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Algonquin Land
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 29 Times in 11 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JQP
    Anyone ever get voice control of Photoshop, Painter, etc. going? Can't help thinking it would be a huge timesaver if it worked right.
    It would surely do, but I cannot help imagining how funny someone would look talking to is computer.
    One thing I would do: assign DOH! to undo

    In painter I imagine it would be hard to do as you cannot (As far as I know) assign a keystroke to a specific brush. In photoshop it is different.

    One time saver I find useful is to remap my keystrokes to an external numerical pad which I put next to my tablet. This way I can do repetitive tasks without having to drill down in menus or doing some extra clickin'.

    Tarc

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tarc
    It would surely do, but I cannot help imagining how funny someone would look talking to is computer.
    One thing I would do: assign DOH! to undo
    Lol!

    In painter I imagine it would be hard to do as you cannot (As far as I know) assign a keystroke to a specific brush. In photoshop it is different.

    One time saver I find useful is to remap my keystrokes to an external numerical pad which I put next to my tablet. This way I can do repetitive tasks without having to drill down in menus or doing some extra clickin'.

    Tarc
    I did a bit of searching and it seems that at least some voice control programs allow the creation of macros, which might be a way around the limitations you refer to.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Algonquin Land
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 29 Times in 11 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    What I was referring to in painter is that there is no way to invoke a specific tool other than by clicking on the icon. The only possible way to trigger it would be for the application to emulate mouseclicks, a feature that can be annoying in a workflow. Not to mention that your windows always have to be in the same place.

    But for all the rest, commands could easily be executed.

    I don't know if speech-recognizing software are getting good these days, but I recall people talking about it as a quite time-consuming process.

    Tarc

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Yeah, I was referring to mouse movements.
    Not to mention that your windows always have to be in the same place.
    That does seem to complicate things. Could start each macro with a command to set a specific layout I guess. Whether or not it's worth it depends on how fast the macros execute.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •