Scarcity of concept artist jobs?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Scarcity of concept artist jobs?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Scarcity of concept artist jobs?

Hi everyone,

I've been thinking about a career as a concept artist in the games and movie industries for a while. Doing research on art schools, however, I often see people recommending that students learn 3D modeling in addition to 2D skills. They say that this will make you marketable to companies.

I have no doubt that's true, but I don't particularly want to do 3D modeling. I don't want to work on games just in any way I can -- I want to do digital painting!

Are there just that few pure "concept art" jobs out there -- do most people also work in 3D? Or will there still be opportunities for me if I'm a painter?

Thanks for any advice. I know one has to be good to succeed either way, but I'm looking at art schools and people's comments about 3D have made me nervous!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Well, besides concept art, there's cover art for books, comics and websites. Although they seem equally rare, looking out for these jobs as well will help with your career possibilites.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    There is also the fact that for some companies, concept art is not an entry level job, so you have to level up somewhere else.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,436 Times in 259 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Concept art is a subset of illustration. Learn illustration well, and you'll have a host of possible jobs available to you.

I think you are awesome, and I wish you the best in your endeavors, but I am tired of repeating myself, I am very busy with my new baby, and I am no longer a regular participant here, so please do not contact me to ask for advice on your career or education. All of the advice that I have to offer can already be found in the following links. Thank you.