General intro and plea for help
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: General intro and plea for help

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

General intro and plea for help

Well, this is gonna serve as a general introduction thread as well as a request for help, I think

I've been reading CA forums for a good while (snooping on you all, ehehe) but was reluctant to register. You see, my dirty little secret is I'm a fanartist. Nearly everything I could possibly post here would be dull, boring, unoriginal fanart. I hope to move away from the fanart thing, but right now I lack the technical ability to design original characters (i.e. knowing nothing about clothes, for a start), so I'm doing these derivative things to learn really. I'm 100% self-taught, sort of blundering along.

Anyway I'm more or less past the stage of "OMG I wanna draw Ash from Pokemon just how he looks in the cartoon!!1one", and starting to try and get a handle on things like perspective and composition and form and color. Operative word being "try".

I was so fed up recently of digital fuzz

"NiGHTS and the Wind Guardian" close-up

and awful awful skin-tone failures

"The Thunder God" close-up

(due I think to a lack of understanding of form and how to achieve it, and light and how to achieve that) that I quit art FOR EVAH in a fit of pique. And then I came to my senses, realized I actually had to TRY in order to improve, and started drawing again but went right back to using 100% hard colors like a toddler. I'm eccentric that way; I figured I was getting bogged down in rendering when my problems were much more fundamental.

Original character

I think this weird discipline has already made me a bit better at the composition end of things. But I still have so far to go.

When put to it I can do a halfway decent still-life

"Nasty Banana on Epson Printer"