Sheridan College VS OCAD for Illustration... what are your thoughts??

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Wasp Sheridan College VS OCAD for Illustration... what are your thoughts??

Hi all...

well, i graduated from the art fundamentals program at sheridan back in 2004, and just recently started studying illustration at sheridan. unfortunately i had to leave due to some financial troubles at home with msyelf and my husband. but i'll be returning in the fall of /08.

i have a guarenteed re-entry into sheridans illustration program, but i'm starting to wonder... what about ocad??

there is so much talk about sheridan and ocad's illustration programs, and how they compare. sheridan has an amazing reputation for its achievments and education, and ppl say ocad you can do a little of what you want with the projects assigned. and then ppl say sheridan gives you the work, education and know how to make it out there in the real world after school. etc... etc... etc.

so i come here to ask. what are your thoughts? opinions... actual experience within these two programs. please let me know, i need some guidance. should i stay i put? or should i check out ocad. please tell me your thoughts!!

Thanks so much!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I've asked this queston before actually...what I've heard from others is that Sheridan is very strict, they'll work you hard and you will get better but you have to do what ythey say.

OCAD gives you more freedom but to get the learing you really have to put yourself out there and talk to the teachers.

Sheridan apparently will give you better contacts in the industry once you leave.

I would imagine that the rent is cheaper around Sheridan which is good...but OCAD is downtown!

[][][][] DRAW EVERYDAY [][][][]>

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hey Rubyexplodes,