Sketchbook: ironorchid's sketchbook
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

ironorchid's sketchbook

Hi, I've been lurking here for a bit and finally decided that I had better start putting up some of my work. I'm a student, I finished a bachelor's in Japanese about a year ago and I want to do a second degree in either Illustration or Sequential Art. I've been taking art classes at a community college to beef up my portfolio. Here's a couple to start:

Name:  mike1.jpg
Views: 128
Size:  94.1 KB

Name:  rita1.jpg
Views: 124
Size:  127.1 KB

(Some of the darkness of the lines is because of my camera setup/photoshop editing)

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    On frist image there is something wrong with left leg, but besides is really nice
    both.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks! I see what you mean with the left leg, the foot especially. Got to get to the point where I catch that kind of thing while I'm drawing and not just looking at things afterwards...

Here's some more from the same class:

Name:  rita2.jpg
Views: 102
Size:  123.5 KB

Name:  mike2.jpg
Views: 101
Size:  110.9 KB

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Solid work man!
    I would suggest you use directionals lines more
    keep it coming.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hey, thanks. What do you mean by directional lines Renier? Style of shading, or something else?

Name:  mike3.jpg
Views: 91
Size:  63.1 KB

Name:  sara2.jpg
Views: 88
Size:  503.0 KB

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I see lots of marks being used to describe things that could be described in much less. Especially with your core shadows... try and economize the way you lay down your values. If you're putting too many marks down... even if you succeed in capturing the values successfully ... you'll run the risk of your artwork looking overworked....