Thanks

Do you really need a certification to work as a concept artist ?

_Hello everyone, Im still 20 years old and i dont know much about this job. So i have a question here for anyone that has already took part in this job, "Do you really need a certification about drawing of some famous school or all you need is just your portfolio ?"
    _Because my parents told me that if you dont have a certification, they may chose you. But when they want to promote someone, they will not chose you because you dont any certification to prove your skill, your talent.
    _So if you have any experience about this, pls let me know because im doing self-taught so i wont have any certification. Btw, my English is not so good. T_T

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    globally the answer is no you don't need anything but your portfolio.
    i dont know what the mentality is like in local, vietnamese studios tho.
    also im very aware of that i'm not the guy that can convince your parents.
    but i guess after the workshop is over you will be able to get some of the most influential persons in this industry to back that NO up.

Thanks
    no is probably the answer but unless you have the most amazing drive and self discipline art schools will certainly help you, finding as much instruction as you can will help you in so many ways. And its nice to have the bit of paper, especially as an entry level artist I can imagine it being quiet re-assuring to a potetial employer?
    Sketch Book
    rook-art.com
    Quote Originally Posted by dogfood
    Sarcasm sometimes grips me like an octopus helmet.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,478 Times in 470 Posts
    you dont any certification to prove your skill, your talent