Thanks

An artist without a day job! help!

I am graduating this friday, wooot. That means however that I owe thousands of dollars now and I have a degree that apparently looks useless on a resume. A lot of people say if you want to be a freelance artist you should also have a day job to help back you up. I understand the whole freelancing gig may mean money, but its unpredicable and not a stable income, so the day job is important.

Well. how the hell do you get that day job anyways, thats my big question. My last job was minimum wage in the texas heat all summer long. I hated it so much and refuse to ever go back or to ever work minimum wage again - $5 an hour is just poverty. Fast food, oh hell no, I dont even eat fast food.

this job hunting business has me so stressed out and confused x_x I understand you cant ask for too much..but..there are just some jobs I just can't see myself doing. Cooking, waitressing *I guess I have mental issues, the idea of touching someones elses dirty dishes just makes me sick!* and teaching - that just is NOT my interest or what I wanted to do with my art education

and what do I do about entry level positions that ask for years of experience? the logic doesn't make any sense to me. who can get an entry level position if it requires experience in the job already? are employers...really serious when they ask for at least two years in something? @__@

is asking for a day job that makes at the least $10 an hour..too much..now that I have a bachelors??

anyone have any advice for my poor sad situation? has anyone else been an artist, without the day job?

I guess I am also afraid about this whole day job business as much as I need one.....americans are over worked people with no breaks, that doesnt give a whole lot of time to develop artwork does it?

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks