A Bit of Help on Process?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

A Bit of Help on Process?

Hello,

I just recently signed up, although I've been viewing all of your works for quite some time now (very beautiful stuff here). My name's Laura, and I'm a highschool student in South Korea whom is aspiring to be a concept artist, and the tips you could give me would greatly improve my future.

As of now I am working on a personal project (a form of book), and would like to know your individual processes for creating 2D concept art. I'm already comfortable at details and shading- but what I am wondering is: Do you first make a sketch, lightly color the basics using traditional medium, then scan and refine of photoshop... or is it something different? And, what form of medium to you tend to use?

Also, do you tend to use some form of tablet when doing your works on photoshop- or do you even use photoshop?

Any help or extra tips would from you would help alot, thanks.

Last edited by Diagrax; December 3rd, 2006 at 07:21 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Im not a professional(Computer game graphics student) so maybe you shouldnt listen to me all that much but here what I do:

1. Put on music on full blast, do a whole bunch of random doodles to get warmed up.

2. Try to form an idea on what it is that I want to do, and make another set of random doodles on that subject

3. Time to begin. I start up a new document in corel painter and begin making a bunch of very small sketches using my wacom. I use an Intuos3 A4 so I can sketch directly on the computer with precision. I use these thumbnails to check composition and poses.