Help in Regards to Concept Art

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Help in Regards to Concept Art

Hello all, I am new here, but have been visiting the site for about 3 months, and I must say, there is a great deal of talent here.

Now, I am a college student, and I have decided to take my artistic abilities more seriously. Having been artistic my entire life, I never thought it would then become what I want to do for a career. Anyway, having said that, I would like to pose a question.

How are you artists able to get such vivid detail from your works? I mean through the coloration and shadows etc...Is there a special program or tool used? I know that photoshop/psp are probably used, but do you use a tablet as well?

Also, I will start my animation and 3dimensional modeling classes next semester, and was wondering if any of you in the field might be able to lend a hand. Would it be wise to get a tablet for 3D modeling?

Well, there you have it. A few novice questions, but you must start somewhere correct? I look forward to becoming an active member in the forums and engaging you talented folks in some intellectual conversations. Thank you for your help.

-All the best

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,441 Times in 259 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Hi Enclave.

There is no such thing as a computer program that makes creative decisions. All programs are just tools. Those details that you love are a product of well-trained hands and minds, and lots of hard work. Practice enough, and you'll be able to do the same.

A tablet will not be useful to you in 3D modeling. However, I highly recomend that you also learn how to texture your models, as the combination of the two skills is more likely to get you a job. For texturing, yes, you will need a tablet, as well as a 2D program such as Photoshop.