.jpeg's looking much darker than .psd's...

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

.jpeg's looking much darker than .psd's...

Hello,

So I am an advanced novice user of Photoshop and have begun doing a lot more digital painting as of late. When I paint in black/white/gray in Photoshop I can get a good scale of values from light to dark...however, when I save the file as a .jpeg copy to post here at this site, the copy goes really dark and a tad fuzzier.

I can tolerate fuzzy, but the dip into the darker territory is really bothering me...does this have to do with the quality of the .jpeg copy saved, the number of scans, etc., or is this just "the way it is?" Or should I adjust my values in the .psd file before I save it as a .jpeg to overcompensate for this?

Any info or ideas or experiences in this? Having originally been exposed to Photoshop in its 2.5.1 incarnation waaaaaay back in the 1990's, CS is a whole new ballgame...

www.costumesketch.com
    I looked at yours, now you look at mine...sketchbook here

"The doctor said I wouldn't have so many nosebleeds if I kept my finger outta there." - Ralph Wiggum

"Never keep up with the Joneses. Drag them down to your level." - Quentin Crisp

"Ordinary morality is only for ordinary people." - Aleister Crowley
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Adjust your screen with Photoshop. Your color setting might not be well set.
    To do this:
    Shift-Ctrl-K or Edit>Color Settings.

I had the same problem when I bought my new screen. If you bought a new screen just re-install photoshop .If no, try to find a driver and load it with the color setting. Windows/Photoshop are just not using the same color values. And Photoshop is bit picky on that=\

hope it will work

Thanks
    Follows
    Following