Wacom pen problem on a new Mac

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Wacom pen problem on a new Mac

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Wacom pen problem on a new Mac

Hi, I just joined yesterday. I'm a retired illustrator and I have been using Macintosh computers since they were first introduced in the mid 1980's. The same with Painter and the Wacom tablet. I bought Painter version 1 from its originator, Fractal Design, and have used Painter through all of its many owners and upgrades.

Although I own Painter 8 and have a trial version of Painter IX, I much prefer Painter 7 and have been importing my very old Painter Classic 1.0.1 brushes because they are the very best Painter brushes ever made, in my opinion.

I recently bought a new Intel Mac Pro computer and two 23 inch Apple Cinema Displays - the illustrator's dream set-up. (In my mind anyway).

Here is my problem: Painter 7 opens and works fine on my new Mac, but the Wacom pen won't apply any paint. I can apply paint with the mouse, but not the pen. I've never seen anything like this before. I've contacted Wacom and they suggested a new tablet driver and I installed that. It doesn't help.

Wacom suggested I contact Corel. I haven't done that because I know they'll say, "Upgrade to a newer version of Painter." I hate Painter 8 and IX. I want to use Painter 7.

If anybody has any suggestions, I'd appreciate the input. I'm at my wits end with this problem.

Probably most of you are using Windows, but I though I'd try anyway.

Thanks.

Fred

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi Fred,

Simple things sometimes work, so I'll ask a few questions:

Have you restored all brush variants in the currently loaded brush library to their default state?

Closed Painter?

Rebooted?