animation or illustration?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: animation or illustration?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

animation or illustration?

ok. here's my case. i'm currently studying in the academy of art university in san francisco. i'm doing my first semester in visual development under the school of animation and visual effects.i want to be a concept art illustrator and my dilemma is whether should i stay in this department or switch to illustration cause

1. this visual development course is apparently crafted for those who wants to be concept artists. the course consists of both illustration and animation courses meaning you'll have a little bit of both. if i stay it would mean i'll have average illustrative skills but i'll have 3d and animation skills as well.

2. if i switch to illustration, that would mean illustration would be a very strong point of mine, but i would lack in the 3d/animation side.

so for those of you who are already in the industry. what do you say i do?

thanks alot in advance.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    It brings up the question of why can't you do both??

I've always thought the best animators can draw and the best illustrators know something about animation. Dabble in both if you can. Both of these skill sets over lap in a lot of areas. The more you learn, the better you'll be off in the long run.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by Storyboard Dave
    It brings up the question of why can't you do both??

I've always thought the best animators can draw and the best illustrators know something about animation. Dabble in both if you can. Both of these skill sets over lap in a lot of areas. The more you learn, the better you'll be off in the long run.