Tablet PC for Sketching and 3d!

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Tablet PC for Sketching and 3d!

Hello everyone.

I'm a student that's about to start at AAU in Januaury with a focus on learning how to be a 3d character modeler, amongst other things. I'm really curious about these new tablet pcs and I'm wondering if it would be a good idea to get one as a sketchbook. Thing is, I'm not sure if technology has advanced enough for me to find one to be used in the ways I'd idealistically prefer...

See, I'd really like one that is capable of handling Maya and/or 3dMax acceptably well, though I know it takes a lot to be able to do that. I won't be doing five million poly models or anything, but still.

Since I'm also quite the sketcher, I'd like to find one with minimal lag and lots of pressure sensitivity.. I hear a lot of the screens are made with wacom technology so that impresses me.

I'm not looking to replace my home system, which is an (absolutely, untransportably gigantic) higher end laptop and an intuous 2 tablet in fine condition, but I really would like to get a light tablet pc for carrying to classes and around town so I can always have my projects at my fingertips!

Does anyone think it's possible to find a good tablet pc that can handle the heavyweight of a 3d environment, or am I asking silly questions? If it truly may be realistic, can any brands be recommended? Or even a set of system specs I should shoot for?

By the way, I'd say I would prefer it to be cheap, but I know that aint happenin.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Generally unless you go really high-end, tablet pc's sport a less powerful processor and memory in favor of better battery life, but i'm not entirely familiar with what's on the market right now.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following