Good starting point for photoshop brush settings

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Good starting point for photoshop brush settings

Can anyone tell me a good starting point for brushes in photoshop. I am just starting out so i'm just using the hard round brush with pen pressure set to opacity and flow but what should i set the opacity and flow jitter to and also the main opacity and flow. Also is there a way i can use shape dynamics without having it be by pen pressure. I know these are things i will tweek as i learn but i just need a good starting point. Thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    what i use is a hard round brush, and set the opacity at 25-40 percent. and if you go to brush controls you can set shape dynamics.

the opacity depends on how you work, if you like to build up then have a lower opacity. 100 percent flow is what i use

if you can make your own textured brushed to give textures to your works.

just make a shape or texture you want to repeat thenselect the whole thing with a lasso tool then go to edit and say define brush present, remember it has to be greyscale, and high contrast shapes are best. this is incase you didnt know.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hard round brush, full opacity and flow, with pressure sensitivity set to affect both. If you want, you can set it to affect brush size, too. Play with the "minimum brush size" slider, too. You can't go wrong with these settings.

As you paint, you may find yourself wanting brushes for specific tasks. Clouds, foliage, and water are three things that you may find difficult to paint using the standard hard round brush. It's nice to have a little more texture to your brushes in some cases. So experiment, see what works.

A couple tips:

1. Scattering can be very useful, particularly when you use it in conjunction with the Smudge tool.