Gremlin Dude
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Gremlin Dude

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Gremlin Dude

Hey just joined the forum here. I've been working on this one in my spare time for a bit. Just want to get some good input on what I can do to make this thing as good as possible.
    The idea with this painting is that Im going to have it printed onto a guitar I'm building right now as well. Maybe I'll post my photoshop comp of the guitar next.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 1,436 Times in 259 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Egads - he has a tree branch growing into his eye! You might want to fix that.

I would like to see how you're planning to fit this on your guitar. What a fun idea!

The yellow light with purple kind of says "I'm new to calculating lights and colors from imagination." In other words, it's over-the-top saturated, and a bit inaccurate. Saturated lights are hard to work with - they cause colored surfaces to be illuminated in complex ways.

But anyway, if it isn't realism you're going for, you can let the lights do funny things.

I can't comment on composition, since I don't know how this will be cropped. And I'll let someone else comment on the dude's anatomy.

Personally, I'd go for some simple patterns if I were decorating my instrument, but that's a personal thang. ;-)

I think you are awesome, and I wish you the best in your endeavors, but I am tired of repeating myself, I am very busy with my new baby, and I am no longer a regular participant here, so please do not contact me to ask for advice on your career or education. All of the advice that I have to offer can already be found in the following links. Thank you.

Perspective 101, Concept Art 101, Games Industry info,Oil Paint info, Acrylic Paint info, my sketchbook.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following