Hello and a Career change question

View testimonialsView Artwork

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Hello and a Career change question

Hi folks,

New member here and just wanted to introduce myself and ask a question. I'm an electrical engineer by profession who is currently unemployed. I've always loved art, comics, movies, fantasy, sci fi, video games, etc. and have been taking drawing classes for a year now.

At first it was just a hobby, but now I am seriously considering a drastic career change into the field of art, specifically video games. My end goal is to do concept work, but I am currently taking classes in 3D Studio Max and photoshop to get my foot in the door.

Has anyone here made or thought of making a career change into this field?

I realize that it's a long bumpy road, but how do you keep your drive and motivation during the down times?

I'd appreciate any other helpful tips as well. Thanks in advance!

Dzu

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Smile ooh almost same situation!

I thought I was the only one who has this "problem"!
    :chug:
    Currently,I am in the final year(4th) of University Education. I major in Industrial engineering..ooh and my grade(GPA) is also quite "bad" right now(resulting from my dislike and laziness).

Since I entered University 3 years ago,I always have one naggin question in my mind,which is "What kind of work that I love to do?" (I got in the field of engineering mainly because of friends and the money--- wrong choice)

Now (in the 4th year!)I just got the answer---I love doing concept ART....damn why didn't I know sooner...

My situation is generally the same as yours,except that I
    have another big obstacle to overcome----I'm in Thailand-- this country does't have game company(not that I know of)

anyhoo,Just sharing my story,please don't get bored,have a beer :beer:

oh,almost forgot,if you're still here,this thread of Josh Frankel might help you: here