crit center is inherently flawed WIP
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Unhappy crit center is inherently flawed WIP

let me say first that i am new here and i applaud and thank the creators of this site for their
    labor of love.

in the spirit of the positive criticism expected in this forum however, and looking at this site as a WIP in and of itself, i offer the following in the hope that it will not offend and will be welcomed as legitimate food for thought.

i have been an art teacher off and on for some time.
    and ive learned that the the crit is a fragile thing.
    one would hope in a site such as this, which is geared primarily toward the industry and employment, that crits would be offered by insiders both on technical levels and with the benefit of industry insight. while this certainly can be found at CA it is sadly rare...most of the crits come from the newest and greenest among us, and as such are 50% correct at best. i have noticed that most crits are uneducated and well just flat out wrong at least half the time...critics are instructed to give thoughtful technical assessments as opposed to the ubiquitous "wow..very cool!" but the deeper critiques are often way off base..incorrect color theory to wrong perspective to wrong insider info.

clearly an alternative to the current system isn't an easy thing to imagine, given the sheer volume of members in desperate need of direction, and the inherent business of any employed insider.

but currently the crit center is more of an exercise in participation in the abstract than any useful learning tool it was clearly meant to become.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 3,344 Times in 1,123 Posts
    Follows
    Following