Art: looking for advice on describing light & shadow on imaginative figures

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

looking for advice on describing light & shadow on imaginative figures

I find this a bit tricky to do without the use of references. What are some ways in which I can improve on this?

I figured that comic book artists are really good at this, so I'd be more than happy to get some tips from them.

Thanks everyone.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'm not a comicbook artist. But you could try drawing your lightsource on the paper itself, after you've drawn in your figure. (draw a lightbulb or just a dot where the light will radiate from) now figure out where this light lies in space?(infront of the character? infront to the side? behind? above and behind? above and infront?) Now whatever you've decided to go with, realize the figure is made up of very basic forms, Cylinders, Cubes, and Spheres. (arms can be cylinders, head can be cylinder, sphere, cube, whatever) Now its just a matter of understanding how light and shadow work and applying it to those basic forms. (i would say work from the largest masses to the smaller masses)

here are some examples, notice how simple and how basic he keeps it.

http://www.characterdesigns.com/band..._chen_0146.jpg

http://www.characterdesigns.com/band..._chen_0149.jpg

http://www.characterdesigns.com/band...tudies_035.jpg

the cones floating in space are the indications of his light source.

also a sexy quote i just saw yesterday.

“ It is very good to copy what one sees; it is much better to draw what you can't see any more but is in your memory. It is a transformation in which imagination and memory work together. You only reproduce what struck you, that is to say the necessary. „ -Edgar Degas