Perfection or Improvement? Technique or Improvisation?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Perfection or Improvement? Technique or Improvisation?

I've been seeing too much of all the pros' stuff from these boards. Look at Coro or Andrew's work. Friggin amazing. It's almost a bit discouraging, until you read deeper and find out Coro's been doing it for years, and aside from the occasional "kewl technique!!!" self portraits Andrew does, they're all the same, really. i mean, after drawing the same features for more than a month, it's probably at the point where he barely has to look at himself. Right?

Well anyways, I'm a self taught artist, i'd like to say i'm pretty good. But i still need to improve.

Should i, in my sketchbooks, blackbooks, or scrap scribbling, strive for perfection? spend a few days on one really good page, or should i do a whole bunch of really quick, under an hour sketches to familiarise myself with my own little idiosyncracies (retracing lines too much, nonunififed lighting, poor detail distribution, no focal points) and overcome them?

Should i create a technique that works and stick to it? Or should i try mixing media or matirials and techniques to sort of improv a new technique? I'd like to get a technique down, to sort of compliment my style (rough, raw...) so i've been trying brush pens. They're really expressive, and a simple stick figure takes on new life and personality

I've been tooling around with Coro's technique- pencil outline, ink, color wash (i use markers), pencil, and gouche *sp*. I like the results, but it doesn't work for me.