Art: Does copying someone elses work help?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Does copying someone elses work help?

Some people have told me that copying someone elses work for practice is useless.. others say that copying for practice a good thing..

what should I do ? .. i personally want to try and copy stuff..

should I?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    hey netbox,

depends, i think.

it's one thing to simply trace over the lines, or simply copy, another thing to study what makes up that artist and learn from them through their drawings. for example, craig mullins mentioned an image in one of his posts on sijun.com where he copied one of john singer sargent's paintings. sargent's a master in color, and craig was studying his use of color.

right now, i'm studying and copying phil hale's art... he has a frickin incredible way with lines.. i've been trying to figure him out and muddling his style into my own. so far, it's helped me a ton with my figure drawings and how i use lines. [i got through a block and have been drawin like crazy.]

anyway, i think you get the picture

i encourage you to copy, but don't just copy.. know what you're looking for and apply it and stuff.

- l

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    To copy helps me a lot. I can "see" quite well (meaning that I don't let my imagination of what a thing should look like) come in my way. However, sometimes I don't know where to close a line or shape and where to leave it open (eg. lips, elbows etc.). To copy helps me to learn how other artists do this. When I copy and it still doesn't come out well I even trace till I understand.