Pay...

View testimonialsView Artwork

Thread: Pay...

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Pay...

Hi, first let me start off by introducing myself. I'm a british media student about to set out on a relitively large scale project split up into a variety of smaller projects. I decided I'd start small and embark on 2 of the 'smaller projects' and to do so, I'm going to require a concept artist (the two smaller projects are very closely related so one set of concept art will cover both).

Anywho the point of this post, is one of pay. I cannot, and would not expect an artist to work for free, but as stated, im a student and as such I'm not exactly rolling around in cash .

I worked out that what is needed are 13 character designs, 5 vehicle designs and some basic location designs. This is a lot of work, and I'm sure would take up a valuble chunk of an artists time. So I guess what I'm asking is, what sort of fee should I expect to pay.

I've read other posts and sites and people talk of paying $100 an hour, and whilst a proper company could afford to pay this, I couldn't (not unless the artist had a 0% interest for the first 4millenia payment plan anyway ).

I realise I haven't said much about the project, thats only because this post is probably quite long as it is, and if I started ranting on about my project it would be a lot longer, I am of course more than willing to answer any questions anyone has.

Thank you to anyone has taken the time to read this and thanks in advance to anyone who replies.

Last edited by Logan; June 5th, 2003 at 04:27 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'd be happy to help you out. b&w character concepts would run about $50 each and finished full color would be more like $100-150. I have samples up at my site if you'd like to see what I can do.

-John

http://www.pensnpixels.com

Thanks
    Follows
    Following