Page 1 of 20 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,451 Times in 259 Posts

Game Art – Advice From Someone In the Industry

So, you love playing games and you love art. You’ve got a sketchbook full of ass-kicking robots, and you’ve got an idea in your head for a whole computer game, right down to the shape of the swords and the bone-chips stuck in the monster’s teeth. And maybe you’re looking at college, or maybe you’re in college and looking at the end of college. Or maybe you’ve been out of college for years and you’re looking for a change. At any rate, you’re probably unsure of what to do next.

Perhaps I can help you. My name is Michelle Clay, and I am a modeler/texturer/environment builder at a company called Turbine. My specialty is environment art, and I like helping aspiring artists figure out where to go next when they want to be where I am.

I give out a lot of the same advice over and over, and all too often I’ve thought of the perfect nugget of wisdom to share only eight hours too late, when I’m in the shower and the conversation is long over. So I figured, why not dump it all somewhere here on Concept Art? I’ll just throw it all out in one disorganized heap, and by golly, if anyone thinks its important enough they might actually sift through and find some words to help them on their way.

So, anyway, here goes. The following includes rambles from me, and from other folks in the games industry who have been kind enough to share some of their knowledge, and some highly unorganized assignments at various levels of difficulty. Please feel welcome to join in the discussion!

Table of Contents
    . . .because this mixed-up mess of information has grown very large. . .

Assignments
    Concept Art for Environments
    Assignment #1 - Analyze a Game Environment

Process of Working with Concept Art

Assignment #2 – Monsters and Concepts
    #2A - extra credit
    #2B - more extra credit
    2D Versus 3D
    Assignment #4 – Draw a Chair