Sketchbook: Kittay's happy happy fun time sketches

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Kittay's happy happy fun time sketches

I beg of you.. Critique ;.;
    Oke SOO it's my first time starting a thread on here and I'm abit nervous. But I'd LOVE for everyone to be as harsh as possible in their critiques. I'm 13 and I've taken 5 years worth of art classes, outside of school, of course. (But I honestly don't think they helped all that much.) Anyways WELCOME and please critique.
    And bear with me alot of it's going to be in progress work. I'll update gradually..

Last edited by Kittay; August 26th, 2006 at 04:46 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    The heads are all too similar, the same nose is repeated often. It's possible to make that work, but then the character and individuality has to be portrayed with clothing and hair. Don't try to show hair with individual lines, instead stress the shape and use a general value to "color" it in. For example you could emphasize the bell shape of Suzycharm's hair, or the ovalness of Keri's. For the bandaid nippled characters, individualy they work, they've got a funky look, but as a group the rhythms of the lines aren't grouping them together. The poster for that play "Wicked", I think was the name, is a good example of composing in such a way. And with that last head, basically work on line quality. An easy way to improve line quality is after you've sketched in your drawing, go over it again with a liquid type pen(either something like a Pilot or fountainpen, something where the line value can't be varied) then go over it in one line, there's more to it than that but it's a start.

Sketchbook

"Beliefs are rules for action"
    "Knowledge is proven in action."
    "It's use is it's meaning."

Thanks