Shadows and highlights...

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Red face Shadows and highlights...

Hey guys, I'm new here (bet you've heard that over and over)
    I need some help with my shadowing and highlights. This is my weakest aspect of my art. I'm posting an image I have recently worked on and still think the shadows/highlights.

EDIT: posted smaller image...

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'm not an expert on it either. If it is of any help it looks as if your creature is evenly lit. That might be true and what you were going for, but it makes it look flat, and doesn't pop out.

Like the horns are nearly the same, and so the one on the left can either be in the background, or in the middle of the head. It's logical to say background, but how it's lit only makes me rely on logic, and not the actual shading provided.

I hope that helps, I'm sure someone else can help yout out better than I can.

Just trying to get out of browsing the lounge tonight.

edit: try thinking of a more dominating light source? Only other thing that pops in to my mind.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

paintover

Hi Transmission Fluid -
    Hope you don't mind, I did a 30 second paintover - it's pretty shite, but I hope it illustrates my point when I say right now, your shadows and highlights are not really helping to define the form of the animal - they are a very pretty bit of rendering, but they are rather arbitrary in theor placement in the picture.

Attachment 14023

Where is your light coming from? Is it hard or diffused? Is it warm or cool? Will it bounce off the floor and walls onto the animal's underside?
    These are all questions to ask yourself.