My advice to all aspiring computer animation students
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: My advice to all aspiring computer animation students

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

My advice to all aspiring computer animation students

Here is a little back story on myself. I am currently entering my Junior year at SCAD this fall, where I am majoring in computer animation. To some of you, the choice of my school may validate, or discredit my opinion. Either way, I don't give a damn. The wonderful thing about advice, is that you can choose to listen to it or not.

I started off writing this thing about schools in general, but I think Iím going to compare two big lightening rods in this forum: SCAD and Ringling. I am picking these schools to not really specifically talk about either one of them, but to hopefully provide a little insight to high school students looking to apply to colleges.

Let's talk about SCAD first. While SCAD does have a decent reputation among the industry, a lot of people will have you believe that itís a crappy school. This stigma obviously came from somewhere, and it does have some grounding in reality. Any school that accepts people at the rate SCAD does (some crazy number like 70-80%), obviously will have a lot of people that canít draw for their lives. However, there are plenty of elite students here with enough talent to run with the best of any school. With that being said, does a place like Ringling have more talent? Probably. What does that mean though? Not much. I think people see a high concentration of talent coming from a school, and think that itís always a direct result of the education. Thatís really not the case.