Art: Screenplay concept work and flash animation
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Screenplay concept work and flash animation

Hi all,

I haven't been to the great conceptart forum for many a month now, since moving to and starting work in London. This has resulted in many of my personal projects being put on hold. But I am wanting to get back into the swing of things, starting with finally giving my screenplay 'Sentient', which I completed last year, a proper push.

Being a designer by trade, I figured the obvious way to do this would be to visualise the general concept of the story (what better a way to give people the 'atmosphere' to the screenplay, other than filming the thing?). This started with an initial proposal for a poster, and then some imagery to capture key scenes. The poster was intentionally kept quite simple and dark.

Since I'd been teaching myself Flash at the time, I decided the next step would be to conceptualise a short movie trailer. So, using some self-animated elements (the walking man), some concept artwork, and a few select clips from feature films, I constructed a movie trailer (link below).

The final step was deciding on how to present the trailer. The obvious solution to me was to create a Flash mini-site around it, that would sell the overall theme and feel to the screenplay. So, I decided to make what is basically a 'living' version of the initial poster above.

So, here it is (link below). This mini-site contains all of the artwork I created for the screenplay, the 'living poster' (which forms the 'home' section of the site), the trailer, and a short synopsis of the overall story.

'LIVING POSTER' - SENTIENT FLASH SITE LINK

I know this is not the usual 'concept work' that is featured in the conceptart forums, but I thought I'd share my first Flash project with you all! Let me know what you think. Feedback welcomed!

Cheers, Jme
    www.jamiemartinart.co.uk