Oil Paint and brushes

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Oil Paint and brushes

I family friend in Bulgaria wanted to know how much oil painting supplies cost in the west, so I've been on a hunt around here doing price checking in the local stores. However, I have no real knowledge of paints and painting supplies, so I was wondering if any of you have suggestions for companies to check out. So far I've seen some Bob Ross brand paints and brushes, Schmincke, and some company with a red and white logo who's name I forgot to write down. Prices are around 4.00-6.50 euro per tube with sizes of about 35-55 ml accordingly.

Are there other companies with oil paints you can recommend, and about how much would I expect to pay in dollars or euros? Also, are there any recomended brands for brushes, or do most brushes hold up well?

I'd appreciate some input, since I'd hate to tell him there are cheap oilpaints here only to find out they are total trash.

Last edited by dfacto; July 29th, 2006 at 05:40 PM.

Es fließt durch meine Venen, Es schläft in meinen Tränen
    Es läuft mir aus den Ohren, Herz und Nieren sind Motoren

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 16,670 Times in 5,020 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    The Bob Ross ones are trash. Schminke are top quality paints, and relatively expensive.

Tristan Elwell
    **Finished Work Thread **Process Thread **Edges Tutorial

Crash Course for Artists, Illustrators, and Cartoonists, NYC, the 2013 Edition!

"Work is more fun than fun."
    -John Cale

"Art is supposed to punch you in the brain, and it's supposed to stay punched."
    -Marc Maron

Thanks
    Follows
    Following