I need to improve

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Unhappy I need to improve

I'm trying to improve drawing realistically, with little progress. This is a drawing I did about a week ago, and any input would be appriciated. I can't draw shells for crap and I'm no good with the pencils I was using, and I'm not very good with shading (I started getting very lazy towards the end)... I need to improve in all areas.

It's a drawing of my camera:
    I need to improve
    Ew. It looks worse all big when you can see all my crapwork.

Also, an older friend who has spent time in art school said I need to use more angles? I'm not entirely sure how to express this when drawing.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    hey there! you seem to be an amateur artist like i am! the guys who posted in my thread were really supportive in an objective way and told me to keep practicing hard.

they put a lot of emphasis on drawing a lot and suggested i start out with anatomy. you seem to have a good amount of talent for a person who hasnt been to art school.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thank you. Yeah, I have a deviantart account, but I know that place is shit for any actual critique, especially for life-like work. And I really need to improve, so I was hoping I'd find tips here.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    What you have is a good start. My suggestion is to keep working on what you got so far. If I were you I'd clean up the lines a bit and put some variations in your values (ex: shadows, midtones, and some highlights). Take your time, have fun, and don't get lazy with it. The only way to improve is persistence, patients, and lots of practice. Hope that helps ya.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following