Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    Thanks

Alternatives to the Art Institute

I am about to enroll with the Art Institute of San Diego. I have paid all the processing fees and i am about to sign loan papers that will defer the $60,000+ in tuition fees untill after i graduate. But before i make this decision i want to make sure their isn't anything else out there that would be a better fit and that would be more cost effective. If anyone knows of any good art schools around the San Diego area, please let me know.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks

Thumbs down Don't do it!

Hey Hink, I graduated form The Art Institute of Philadelphia with an A.S. in graphic design. I highly reccomend you stay away from all AI schools.

Though I don't have any experience with AI San Diego, all AI schools are the same. I have never come across anyone who was happy with their AI education.

Check these out
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/antiartinstitute/

http://forums.awn.com/showthread.php...5&pagenumber=1
    It takes a while but this disscussion gets on AI and it gets pretty heated at the end.

And no matter what they tell you, Art Institute credits are not transferable. That is reason enough not to go there.
    You are better off going to a state school or going to a community college and transfering to an art school. That is what I'm doing now because my AI "degree" doesn't mean much.

I'm sure their are others on this board that can share experiences with AI.

What do you plan on studying?

I hope this is some help to you.

David

Thanks
    this is a big help to me, thank you. i plan on studying game art & design at AI.

could you go into more detail on how the Art Institute failed you? they tell me that they have internship & job placement oppertunities. how did that work out for you?

Thanks