Thread: Following Up?

Thanks

Following Up?

Hey all! I haven't been around here for a while, but I just got an email from the head of an amateur RPG development team in Hungary looking for an artist. I assume they found my art website and are interested in my work. I can't really tell if it's a paying job, but as a college Freshman I'm more interested in experience (working to develop a client's concept, etc) than compensation.

However, I'd like to do this right. What kinds of questions should I be asking? (Website? Number of pieces? Size of pieces? Medium? Concept background?) And even if I do end up doing this pro bono, is there anything I should be doing to protect my work? Seeing as I'm totally new to this sort of freelance work, any advice would be extremely helpful. Thanks!

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Whenever I get one of these emails, I generally ask to see examples of their work FIRST (website, sample files, other projects they've done, other artists they've got working for them, etc), or I'll go google 'em, to see what kind of "company" I'm dealing with. Also important is whether it's paying or not, what market they're going for, what work they need from me and what their time frame is.

If they're looking for free work, I have to ask myself--is the project going to be fun? Am I going to like working with the others on the team? Will it challenge me and give me good portfolio pieces? If I'm uninspired by the job and not getting paid, then the farther down it's going to be on my list of things to do and that's no good for anyone.

Thanks