Is there such a thing as an apprentice still?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Is there such a thing as an apprentice still?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Is there such a thing as an apprentice still?

I am a self taught artist, and really i have not taught myself enough just yet. I am desperately trying to hold on to the dream that i can still work in the comic book industry if i just keep trying to improve. However i, like i said, have neve attended any school of art and trying to learn all there is in my spare time sometimes seems like a losing battle (only sometimes ).

Really for the last few years all i have dreamed of is a mentor of some kind but i don't even know if there is such a thing anymore. Is it still possible to get some kind of work where you are learning at the same time?

I read the Massive Black site like in one sitting from beginning to end and it was just awesome to hear about these people that have built for themselves an enviroment that some of us can only dream of at the moment. If i wanted to work towards maybe getting good enough to being hired by them, would that mean that i would have to go to art school for a few years and set aside my comic book dreams (cause i reckon there just would not be enough time fo school, work AND comic book work on the sidei reckon)?

Working hard is not a problem for me. Working without a little of a guideline or set deadline i think gets a bit hard.

I guess that is it for today. Cheers,

-PJ
    Keep the child alive...
    Dare to Believe Sb
    Website
    Blog
    Class 1 and 2
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    That's what internships are for.

And yes, mentoring still exists. I had one for a few years working as a 3d modeller.