How To Tell Them You Won't Starve

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Unhappy How To Tell Them You Won't Starve

Okay, so here's the deal. I've gotten into (with scholarships) to SCAD. And I REALLY want to go. I can even afford to go without any student loans. SCAD rolled back my admission to Fall 2007, so that I can attend my local university for one year to do core classes.

The problem? My grandparents don't consider art a career. And they don't see anything wrong with going to my local university.

For 18 years I lived with my dad until he passed away suddenly (and unexpectedly) the week before I graduated high-school. I was the only child and sole inheritor. My inheritance from this unfortunate event will cover my years at SCAD (and still leave a good bit for savings). Before his passing though, we had agreed that I'd go for one year at my local university (my dad was a professor there too). The thing being, we never told my grandparents.

I now live with my grandparents until I move out in August. Before, my dad always stood up to them and took the blame for anything I might have done. Now, I'm left facing them alone. How in the world do I begin to explain to these Great Depression-era people that I can make a decent career out of art? And not only that, but that SCAD is an exceptional school to attend as well? The local college does offer art majors, but to be frank, the art department (excluding architecture) is notoriously weak. They offer only Fine arts and Graphic Design as majors. I have had local, professional artists tell me to my face that our university doesn't have a good art department. True, it would be cheaper ($10,000) to stay at home but, I just feel I'd be missing out on a once and a life time opportunity.

Did anyone else have to explain to their opposing parents that they wanted to go into art? How did you manage without cutting the family ties?