Intuos 3 and Painter IX: Pressure?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Intuos 3 and Painter IX: Pressure?

Hello everyone,

I just bought an Intuos 3 6x8, as I am just getting into digital painting. Now the tablet is advertised to have 1024 levels of pressure sense. However, it seems that I have to slighty press on the tablet to make the pen pick up a line/brushstroke. Now in real life, you could simply drag a pencil without putting any pressure on it to make it draw a very faint line.

Is it normal to have to slightly press to get the pen to engage?

Also, I was playing with the wacom control panel, and when I do the pressure test, I can't get the pressure to gradually increase. It sort of skips, never goes in a fluid motion.

Thanks for your time.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Try setting up the the brush tracking in Painter. Also I set my pressure sensitivity on the wacom to as low as possible too avoid scratching it. I trained myself to press really light. You may find you will need to lower the opacity on some tools to get the desired effect you need.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following